Posted by: hugapoohlouise | November 3, 2013

Prayer Changes….

Prayer changes things, prayer changes me and prayer can change you too.  After taking the time to pray over my hopes and dreams for two full weeks, I have been changed.  How about you?  Has prayer changed you?  Has God put into perspective for you how your hopes and dreams look in light of eternity?

I can answer a “yes”!  God showed me that my hopes and dreams were holding me down.  I was holding on to hopes and dreams that came into existence in a little girl’s heart over 30 years ago.  God showed me that I was holding on to these hopes and dreams instead of letting go and letting Him.   In fact, I was holding on to these hopes and dreams so much tighter than I was holding on to Him.  Whoa.  Really?  Yes.

I really had an eye-opening experience and I have to say it was not an easy one.  I had to be broken, broken of holding onto my hopes and dreams instead of holding on to God and all He has for me.  I sinned.  I had allowed the hopes and dreams of a little girl to take precedent over the will of God.  Once again, that “I” word.  I thought I knew what was best, I thought my hopes and dreams were better than His.  I, me, my all over again.   I had to repent and turn from this practice.  It was not easy, after all for 30 years I had allowed these worldly hopes and dreams to drive me, to give me hope and to push me forward when the sea of life became rough.  It was a habit that formed over the years and one I didn’t want to let go of with my flesh.  But, I did.  I asked God to forgive me, and I turned to Him.  I asked Him to place in my heart new hopes, new dreams, His hopes, His dreams.  To see how I was to walk out my life according to His plan.

Let me tell you, His plan is so much different from what I could have hoped and dreamed on my own.  His plan is so much higher than any hope or dream I could have dreamed.  And to tell you the truth, I don’t think He has revealed the whole entire plan to me yet.  I have seen but a glimpse and I am humbled.  God chose me for this?  I sit in awe and absolute adoration that He chose me.  Thank You Lord for helping me to see where I was not placing You first in my life.  Thank You Lord for giving me the strength to dig deep and find the root cause of this sin.  Thank You Lord for helping me confess my sin so You can cleanse me from this unrighteousness and for restoring me to a right relationship with You.  Thank You Lord.

I have been praying for each of you who contacted me personally away from the blog regarding your own struggles with hopes and dreams.  I pray that the Lord is leading you to a deeper relationship with Him too.  I would love to continue to pray with you as you walk through this battle to lay down your will and take up His.  Just drop me a line and I will come alongside you and lift you up in prayer.

The Lord showed me that anything I am holding on to tighter than I am holding on to Him is an idol and therefore a sin.  Today, I laid to rest a little girls hopes and dreams that I held tighter than God, longer than God.  It was a day of rejoicing!  It was a day of grateful hearts singing to the Lord.

I am sure the battle is not over, after all we have an enemy that is prowling around looking for the opportunity to devour us.  I am sure that I will face days when it will be easier to choose my way instead of the Lord’s.  Life is not easy and no one promised me it would be.  But, the Lord told His disciples to pray that you will not fall into temptation. Luke 22:40.  I am praying that I will not fall into the temptation to return to the easy way.  I am praying that I will choose each day to hold tighter to the Lord Jehovah than I hold on to anything else.  I am praying the same thing for you my friends as we continue on this journey of being the clay and letting God be the Potter.  As we are molded and shaped into His likeness, let us hold on to Him tighter than anything else.

Until Next Time,

M

Responses

  1. If you would pray for me to be the obedient woman God wants me to be, to eliminate any blocks, and to change what I need to change, I would be so thankful ❤

    • I will be praying. Your post touched my heart. I’ve been thinking of doing a study on What Happens When Women Say Yes to God by Lysa TerKeurst.
      Would you be interested in studying through this with me? I know the holiday’s are coming up but pray about it and let me know what you think.
      M


Leave a Reply

Categories

