Posted by: hugapoohlouise | November 18, 2013

How Do You Teach Thankfulness?

I’ve struggled with this question many times.  Have you?  How do you teach thankfulness to our children?  It’s a tough one.  Isn’t it?

Use with permission from Everystockphoto

Use with permission from Everystockphoto

We live in a sinful world.  A world that is not thankful.  A world that has the entitlement attitude.  It is owed to me and I am going to have it now!  You’ve seen it, you’ve heard it, I know you have it’s everywhere.

So how do we try to reverse this trend in our own homes, our own life and the lives of our children?  I struggle daily with this.  Then… something happened that made me realize that as long as I am relying on Him, the creator of the universe and the One who created  you and me, seeds are being planted.  Seeds that one day will produce fruit, not to my glory or the world’s, but to glorify Him!  Thank You Father.

Recently, as me and my oldest daughter were having our usual bed time conversation, it happened!  The realization that it is Him that plants the seeds of thankfulness in my children’s heart, not me.  He uses me and my life lived out in front of them as the fertilizer to nurture these seeds He is planting in their life.  I asked my daughter what she wanted for CHRISTmas this year?  Her reply made my heart-break with the above realization and break because I can see God’s hand in all this.  Her reply you ask?  “Mom, all I want for CHRISTmas is to ride my horse and a jug of eggnog.”  This mama almost fell out of bed.  Was this my child?  The child that five minutes ago was calling her sister an idiot?  Yep, I checked to make sure it was the same child.  My heart sank as I realized that God was able and that He was working in her life.  It was my responsibility as her mother and a child of God to keep walking the path He has laid before me in obedience.  Not to change her, but to lead her with strong hands and a heart made strong by Him.

So next time you struggle with how to teach your children thankfulness, stop.  Seek the Lord first and let Him be your guide and stand back and watch for fruit.

Until Next Time,

M

Leave a Reply

Categories

