Posted by: hugapoohlouise | December 3, 2013

3 to 6 weeks…. to live…

Those were the words that my half sister heard after her return from vacationing.  Her doctor spoke these words to her.  You have three to six weeks to live.  What do you say?  “Oh, thank you.”????  What do you do?  Especially when you don’t have Jesus in your heart?  Where do you turn?  Who do you turn too?  I don’t know, because I am holding onto a scarlet cord that traces back to the very beginning of time, Jesus Christ my Lord and Savior.  BUT, what if you don’t have a Savior in your life?

Ever since I read the letter that my sister who did not hear these words, but the one filling in as a caretaker, I have wrestled with these words.  What would you have me do Lord?  What would you have me say Lord?  What will bring You glory in this dark, dreary scene that is playing out in the life of  my flesh and blood?  Lord, I am listening, so speak and I shall hear.

I don’t have a personal relationship with my half-sister who lives 1,200 miles away.  She terminated this relationship when our mother died.  There are hurt feelings, words that were said that tore flesh from bone.  BUT… doesn’t the sound of those words change everything?  I know it does on my part, it did along time ago, the minute I asked God to help me forgive and when was released from the bondage of unforgiveness.

So today as you read the words I have written as God has led me, why don’t you call up your sibling and just tell them that you miss them and were thinking of them.  Squeeze those children a little tighter next time you hug them and love them to pieces.

Until Next Time,

M

Responses

  1. I guess all we can do is pray…I have an adopted brother who doesn’t speak to me and I’ve cut off relations with my birth family over a year ago before we moved here. It got ugly and toxic and–I don’t know if there’s anything to forgive, I just don’t want those influences, especially in Michael’s life. I struggle to maintain a relationship with my adoptive mother who is emotionally abusive but since my father passed away, I’m the only one who talks to her. Family is hard. Grateful for hubby’s family here and to be part of God’s family–and for the friends He’s blessed me with along the way who have become extended family… ((Hugs!!))

    • Dawn:
      Thank you for sharing your story with me. I know this may sound strange but it helped tremendously. To know that I am not the only one who is walking down this uncharted path gives me comfort. To know that there are things I can do to remove the ugly and toxic from my girls life in regards to my family also blesses me. As a mother I live to protect them from the same hurt that I’ve been through.
      Thank you again my friend.
      M

  2. Each of you are in my prayers…….Ps. 103……God’s love, care and mercy are new every morning……Love, Phyllis


Leave a Reply

Categories

