Posted by: hugapoohlouise | January 2, 2014

2014 Word Fearless

Happy New Year!  I can hardly believe it is 2014.  I pray that your year is blessed, God honoring and blesses Him!

I wanted to pop in this morning and share my Word for 2014.  Last year I chose my first word.  And as I sit and evaluate that word in reflection of 2013, I realized I did well up until the last months and then I strayed.  My word was “Present”.  I wanted to be present in all I did, with all I did it with.  This was hard for me as I am a multi-tasker by nature.  If I am doing only one thing, my mind wonders.

In 2014, I prayed and prayed for the Lord to give me the word He wanted me to focus on.  It wasn’t until New Years day that the Lord led me to my word for 2014.  I was starting to get concerned.  Thoughts flooded my mind, that maybe this word thing wasn’t for me.  BUT, remember nothing is impossible with God and He is always right on time.

My word for 2014 is “Fearless”.  In 2014 I am going to stop letting fear have control of my life.  I am going to stop letting fear make decisions and chart the course of my life for me.  I refuse to passively sit back and let fear run my life.  I am going to trust in my Savior and walk in a manner that brings Him glory and honor.  The verses that the Lord gave me were as follows:

2 Timothy 1:7 For God hath not given me the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.

Isaiah 54:17 No weapon that is formed against thee shall prosper; and every tongue that shall rise against thee in judgment thou shalt condemn. This is the heritage of the servants of the LORD, and their righteousness is of me, saith the LORD.

I know what you might be thinking, I think.  What do I have to be afraid of?  Well, I have to confess I’ve let plenty scare me in recent years.  BUT no more.  2014 is going to be a fearless year and I am going to keep looking unto the Lord from where my help comes from.

I would love to hear your word.  Share it here in the comments.  Or if you are not using a word this year I would love to hear your life verse or year verse.

P.S. just an update, I wanted to share with you our upcoming reviews.  I have a review of Angie Smith’s new book “Chasing God” and a giveaway.  I have a review of Gina Duke’s new book “Organizing Your Prayer Closet”.  I also have a reviews on temporary Christian tattoos.  Plus many more.  If you have a product you would love to be featured on Melissa’s Musings please drop me an email which can be found on my disclaimer page.  I would be honored to try out your product.

Until Next Time,
M

Responses

  1. Hey!
    My word this year is LESS. I can think of myriad things that go along with that, but here are a few verses to support my word:

    16.John 3:30
    He must become greater; I must become less.”

    20.Ephesians 3:8
    Although I am less than the least of all the Lord’s people, this grace was given me: to preach to the Gentiles the boundless riches of Christ,

    But, the other day God just put on my heart that my first step was LESS judging. I found myself in a situation where I was judging the outcome of someone’s actions in a negative way. When I should have been using words of encouragement, or at least thinking Godly words, I was being negative.

    I am working on that. I want my word LESS to really count this year and to let God work in my heart on that word, no matter where it takes me.

    Hugs, M,

    Jen

    • Jen:
      Thank you for responding with your Word for 2014. I really loved your verses. I too think there should be less of me and more of Him. I pray that for both of us this year Jen as we take this journey together to grow more Christ like. I pray that both of us would judge LESS and love more.
      Can’t wait until GMG starts back I miss you all.
      M

  2. My word is STILL. God wants me to be still before Him and focus on His voice

    • Teresa:
      Thank you so much for sharing your Word for 2014 with me. I love the word “still”. I was studying about it this morning. Psalms 46:10 Be Still and Know That I Am God.
      I pray you have a safe, blessed, God honoring 2014. Thanks for reading.
      M

  3. Great word……when I am in The Word it always amazes me how often the words “Fear Not” appear……the angels proclaimed it at the birth of Chirst and Jesus comforted his disciples before His death……and I love what Gos tells us you has put in us instead of fear…..Power, Love and a Sound Mind….what have I to fear…..good choice.


Leave a Reply

Categories

