Posted by: hugapoohlouise | January 19, 2014

Bite Sized Encouragments

Each week, every day I receive a huge amount of emails, tweets and pokes.  I can’t read it all, but I do try.  That is the perfectionist in me.  Over achiever, obsessive Compulsive.  So I wanted to try sharing a little bit of encouragement that I’ve found in my inbox, blog box and miscellaneous places throughout the week.  I pray that each word speaks to your heart and it is used for the good of God’s Kingdom.

Stay tuned for a very important announcement at the end of this encouraging blog post!  Trust me you won’t want to miss it.

When I was a sinner who was not saved by grace, who did not know her personal Lord and Savior as Jesus, but served Satan, I was not insecure.  I was one of the most confident persons you’d every meet.  I had no trouble speaking my mind and putting you in your place as I judged it should be.  I am not condoning this behavior in any way, I am just sharing what my life was like before I met Jesus.  Now that I have come to serve my Lord Jesus Christ, I am totally insecure.  Can I get an amen?

As I shared in my review of Angie Smith’s book “Chasing God”, I am people pleaser, over achiever.  When these traits dominate you, you tend to be insecure about everything.  I received some encouragement from Stephanie Shott last year in one of her blog posts (you can click on her name to go to her website).  “How to Push Past Your Insecurities”.

“The battle begins and ends in the Mind.”

“God’s Word is what we are to filter our thoughts through”.

“Determine to believe what God’s Word

says and refuse to entertain any thoughts

that run contrary to His Word.”

“Determine what you will think on.” Phil 4:8

How can we fight a battle for our minds when we don’t know where the battle ends or begins?  We find out in Stephanie Shott’s blog post where the battle ends and begins.  But, first you have to acknowledge that you are in a battle for your very soul and then you can proceed.  When you know the battle field this give you an advantage to gain ground and take back control.  The second quote above was on allowing God’s Word to filter our thoughts.  How can we know what the Word of God says about anything unless we read it daily.  Can I get an Amen?  Spending time in God’s Word reading, slowly until something speaks to you.  Savor it, taste and see that it is good.  You can’t do it once a year, once a month or once a week to really allow it to permeate your life, you have to do it daily.  Without the wisdom of God’ s Word we will never win the battle in our mind.

Then we have to set our hearts, mind, our everything in belief that we believe God’ Word to be truth.  If God’s Word says it, then I believe it and I live as though it is true in my life.  Saturate your mind with truth, saturate your heart and life too.  Refuse to think on any thought that runs contrary to God’s Word.  Stephanie suggested that we create a “whatever list”.  Prepare before hand.  Equip yourself with a list of things that you are supposed to be thinking on according to Phil 4:8 and replace every thought that is not on that list.  Turn to your “whatever list” any time your mind or your heart becomes insecure.

I hope this bite-sized piece of encouragement blesses you as much as it did me.

I forgot a very important piece of information  about the Angie Smith “Chasing God” contest.  Yep, you guessed it.  I forgot to tell you when the contest ends.  Unfortunately, I haven’t had any email me to tell me of this mistake, so for the benefit of those who have already entered to win your very own copy of Angie Smith’s book “Chasing God”, the contest ends 01.31.14 at midnight.  The winner will be announced soon after and will have five business days to respond.

Until Next Time,

M

Leave a Reply

Categories

