Posted by: hugapoohlouise | January 23, 2014

One Words, Spotlight Verses and guidance in 2014

I shared at the beginning of the year that my word for 2014 was Fearless.  I wanted to share with you today the spot light verses that the Lord led me to use backing up my word, Fearless.

Fearless.  In 2014, I’ve set out with the Lord’s guidance to live a life that is not controlled by fear.  Fear of weather, fear of the cares this world brings.  To stop letting fear guide me and cause me to make decisions based on fear instead of faith.  No fear.  I know that this is the slogan for a popular tennis shoe, but that is where the Lord is leading me this year.  I love the Lord’s sense of humor sometimes.

I learned in my study on the word fear that the opposite of fear is faith.  Ouch.  I want to live a life that is overflowing with faith.  I don’t want fear to be in control of my life.  I want to walk by faith.  I want to be led by the Lord and I can’t if fear is sitting in the driver’s seat.

The Spirit whispered these verses to me as I begin my journey in 2014 to live a fearless life.

Isaiah 54:17 ESV “no weapon that is fashioned against you shall succeed, and you shall confute

every tongue that rises against you in judgment. This is the heritage of the servants of the LORD

and their vindication from me, declares the LORD.”

2 Timothy 1:7 ESV “for God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control. “

These verses I call my spotlight verses.  They help me realize things about my life and the Word of God that I need to pay attention too in order to live out a fearless 2014.  They can be areas that I need strengthening in or I need to pay special attention too.  Do you have a spotlight verse?  What about a life verse?

As I allow the Spirit to guide me each day of 2014, I have to come to the firm set belief that God is in control, I am not, nor will I ever be.  I have to relinquish the need to control to Him.  I already know that He is faithful and just, I already know that He loves me.  So why is it so hard sometimes to just let go and let God?  I struggle, I won’t sugar coat it for you, but I am learning day by day, step by step and moment by moment to look up at Him and seek His will for me, instead of forging ahead alone.  When I am alone and doing it my way, I am fearful.  When I wait on Him and allow His Word to be a lamp unto my feet that illuminates the path He has planned for me, I am not fearful.  In fact, I am just the opposite, I am peaceful.

If the Lord is for me, than who can stand against me?  The answer is no one.  But, some days it feels, seems like everyone is against you.  Especially if you are a mom of small children.  Or teenagers, right?  But, I have to return to the truth of the verse I quoted above.  Isaiah 54:17, this verse doesn’t say that my 2014 will be a bed of roses minus the thorns.  That I will walk on easy street all year-long.  It says that there will be weapons and they will be formed against me so then I must have an enemy that is forming these weapons and coming after me right?  Not one that is flesh and blood but one that is controlled by the devil.  The great part about this verse is that those weapons that are being formed against me WILL NOT SUCCEED.

Another good point of this verse is there will be tongues that will rise up against me with words that will come against me.  Don’t stop now, I promise it will get better.  But the Word of the Lord says that I will confute every tongue that rises up to judge me.  WOW, powerful isn’t it.  Especially when you apply it to your life daily.  Fear kind of shrinks back into the darkness where it belongs.  Faith leaps and grows doesn’t it?

So how are you applying the Word of God to the word the Lord led you to in 2014? I’d love to hear.

Until Next Time,
M

Leave a Reply

Categories

