Posted by: hugapoohlouise | January 29, 2014

What does God’s Word say about Fear?

Fear is a word that I removing from my vocabulary this year.  Before you start unsubscribing from my blog or quit following me on Twitter or Facebook, wait.  Let me explain.

The Fear that I am leaving behind is the word that is a noun.  The meaning is:  an unpleasant emotion caused by the belief that someone or something is dangerous, likely to cause pain, or a threat.  I am also leaving this word behind as it is defined here:  be afraid of (someone or something) as likely to be dangerous, painful, or threatening.

I AM NOT leaving behind fearing the Lord.  Which means:  to morally revere.  Reverence.  I will still have an attitude of healthy respect and adoration for Him.

I shared that my One Word for 2014 was Fearless, so I’ve been digging into the word fear in God’s Word.  Did you know that there are more than 300 Scriptures in the Bible on fear?  Did you know that there are 65 definitions found for the word fear?  Me either.  I am thank God right now for leading me to this Word and for showing me that He has the word fear under His control and that I am not to walk in fear but faith.  God truly is amazing and He never ceases to amaze me.  How about you?

Today, I want to share a few with you, just in case the enemy of our soul is trying to use fear against you.

“For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love

and self-discipline.” 2 Tim. 1:7 NLT

I like to take verses from the Word of God such as the one above and look them up in different translations to help me comprehend what I am reading.  When I first read the verse in the NLT translation, the word timidity jumped out at me.  Now I’ve never been accused of being timid or shy.  I usually speak my mind, am loud and seen and heard.  Interesting what you’ll find when you dig into another translation.

“The angel of the LORD encamps around those who fear him, and he delivers them.” NIV Psalms 34:7

“When I am afraid, I put my trust in you.” Psalms 56:3 NIV

So now I want to ask you something.  What is your One Word?  What word has the Lord laid on your heart for 2014?  Grab your online Bible study program or your Concordance and look up the word.  Find out how many times it appears in Scripture.  Write each Scripture out so you’ll have them or better yet input them into your smartphone.  So the next time you are waiting in line or stuck in carpool, pull out your list and read it.  Commit it to memory so when the enemy of our soul prowls around trying to devour us like a lion with his fiery darts, through some darts back of your own or should I sword, Sword of the Lord, the Word of God.

Until Next Time,

M

Leave a Reply

Categories

