Posted by: hugapoohlouise | March 10, 2014

Bite-Sized Bites of Encouragement for you.

I came across a quote the other day as I was in my quiet time, there was not reference given as to who said it, I just had to share this with you.

“She who is self-indulgent is dead while she lives.”

This quote was used in reference to Scripture 1 Timothy 5:1-10.  Meditate on that for a while.  I don’t know about you, but the Word pierced me with this one.  I spent an entire week searching and allowing myself to be searched by the Holy Spirit regarding this quote.  Thank You Lord for bringing me closer to You.

This week we’ve entered the season of Lent.  I had no idea what Lent was until a few years ago.  I know right?  I thought it was a holiday celebrated by the Catholic religion.  Boy was I believing a lie. I am so thankful that the Lord does not leave us in our lies.  He could, you know.  But He doesn’t!  Have you thanked Him for this today, for His light that shines so brightly in our life that all darkness must flee.

This year during the season of Lent, I have decided to give up more of:

Self! and Lies!

As the journey of Lent begins for me will you join me as I allow the Lord to lead me deeper into His Word and worship.  Teaching me how to sit in His presence and soak in Him.  I have a longing, a hunger this Lent season and the only place I can find fulfillment for this hunger is God’s Holy Word.  Wait! Let me rephrase that “the only place I want to find fulfillment is God’s Holy Word.”  How you may ask?  Let me share.

So glad you asked.  Through meditation on Scripture, through prayer and worship.  To begin a journey to seek out the lies that I’ve believed and replace them with the truth from God’s Own Word.  To purge, prune and cleanse my life with God’s Word just like the Hebrews 4:12 ESV – For the word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing to the division of soul and of spirit, of joints and of marrow, and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart.

The first thing we have to do as we begin this pruning is to take God at His Word regardless of our circumstances.  Sweet Sister or Brother, I don’t know what you are walking through right now, but He does.  We have to stand up and declare with our life, actions that we believe God no matter what.  Do you? Do I?  What happens when you fail?  How do I know we will?  I have already.  We ask the Lord to forgive us and show us where we are not fully believing Him, trusting Him and we press on.  Remember not with our head down giving the enemy victory, but with our eye’s looking up, expectantly waiting and watching.

If you feel like giving up, please drop me a line or reach out in some way.  I would love to talk with you, because I’ve been there and there is a way back into His arms.

Until Next Time,

M

Leave a Reply

Categories

