Posted by: hugapoohlouise | June 20, 2014

A New Pair of Glasses

Every summer vacation in the Water’s household we begin it with eye examines for all three girls.  I know that sounds silly but that is how it is and will continue to be thanks to the insurance powers that be.

My oldest daughter, Savannah has had glasses for about four years now.  The past three eye examines her eyes have changed very little, but still enough to require new glasses.  She has stuck with the same frame style for the past three years.  She doesn’t like change.  Can you relate?  I can in some aspects and then in others I crave change.  I crave change in my walk with the Lord, I want Him to change me, mold me, shape me.  But in the day-to-day routines I crave the same thing day in and day out.  I don’t want change coming along and upsetting the cart.  But, how can I crave spiritual changes without the  day-to-day routines changes?  You guessed it.  Impossible with a capital “I”.  So I have to surrender the mundane tasks that I perform each and everyday to Him and allow Him to change me.  Easier said than done.  But Praise God  He is faithful.

My middle daughter has perfect eyes.  Bless her, she has no idea how blessed she is.  She is a little jealous of her sister who has had glasses, but she has never voiced that she wanted glasses.  And I pray that she never does.  I’ve worn glasses since I was 12 years old.  I switched to contacts for a while and then my body decided it couldn’t wear them any longer so I returned to glasses.  I too am like my oldest child, I don’t want to change so I usually end up wearing my glasses until they fall apart.  Or unless I am told I have to get new ones because my prescription changed.  There is that word again “change”.  Lord, change me, I surrender all.

This year my youngest daughter, Gabby needed glasses.  She has been wanting glasses since her older sister got her first pair.  She has even tried to fool the eye doctor with her eye examine.  But, he caught her and for two years she has not been a happy camper.  Then this year, her vision needs correction so she got her prayer, glasses.  I hope her enjoyment and excitement never wears off, because from what the eye doctor told me she will be wearing glasses for a while.  Interesting to me, is how we think we know best like Gabby, we pray for something because we think it will be good for us, fun, something new, a change.  There is that word again, but used in the positive.  So we pray and ask the Lord.  When He doesn’t answer we tend to get our feathers ruffled a little.  But, if our prayer is answered we are overjoyed.  BUT… what if the thing we prayed for is not the best thing He has for us?  That caused me to stop in my tracks.

What if, He had or has something better for us.  Instead of using a pair of glasses to see, we could see clearly without them?  I don’t know about you but this simple visit to the eye doctor caused this mama to stop and think about the things I have been praying for.  I thank the Lord that He uses little things like this to reach me.  To cause me to run back to Him and find out what is best instead of letting proceed on with second best.

How about you?  I’d love to hear how the Lord has gained your attention or changed your course.

Until Next Time,

M

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

