Posted by: hugapoohlouise | July 28, 2014

Come Back To Jesus And Don’t Bring Your Blackberry by Tanya Logan Bible Study Review

That title could also read “Come Back To Jesus And Don’t Bring Your Smartphone”.  I have a confession to make.  My Smartphone goes everywhere with me.  I’ve been knowing to return home to retrieve said phone because I left it charging while I drove off to work.  I like the feel of the smartphone in my hand.  I exercise with it.  It tracks miles, calories, etc.  I watch TV with it.  I use it when I read.  So I am a self-confessed smartphone addict.

ComeBacktoJesuscoverSo now that I’ve confessed my addiction to my smartphone you can see why I decided to read “Come Back To Jesus — And Don’t Bring Your Blackberry by Tanya Logan.  When I picked up this Bible study I was questioning my walk with the Lord.  Was I cold or hot?  Had I allowed busyness to get in the way of intimate fellowship with the LORD?  In Tanya Logan’s book Come Back To Jesus you will find your way back to your first love.  In her book she challenges each of us to personally dig into Scripture to discover what the Lord Jesus has for us.  I have to say this was my favorite part.

I know I’ve shared in the past, especially during reviews, but I absolutely abhor being spoon-fed God’s Word.  I long to discover those nuggets of truth for myself and I love to do it with others.  But you can keep your opinions and Bible study transcriptions, this God-loving girl wants to open her Bible everyday.  More so now after reading Come Back To Jesus.

Tanya’s book helped me return to a consistent quiet time without distractions.  To my amazement God was right there waiting for my return.  I know He is waiting for yours too.  So what are you waiting for?

Tanya takes you on a personal journey through guided reading and interactive questions.  She helps readers return to a life centered on the Word and God.  I loved that this study was very intimate between myself and my Lord.  Remember to have your ears open to hear what He has to say to you as you take this journey alongside Tanya.

Come Back To Jesus — And Don’t Bring Your Blackberry is a 6 week Bible study that can be done individually or as a group.  I recommend going through it two times.  The first time, by yourself alone with God and let Him reveal and speak to your heart.  Then as a group with people who know you very well.

The adventure begins with discovering who God is. Next stop is the identifying the cares of this world that come and how we are to personally deal with them.  After you’ve dealt with time bandits competing for your attention you enter the part of the journey where you have to make a choice.  After you’ve chosen you continue to pursue God which will help you build your daily relationship with the Lord.  Lastly, Tanya shows us how to remain idol free.  You’ll never look at your Blackberry or Smartphone the same again.

Tanya Logan began writing this book in 2003 inside her head.  In 2011 she finally found the time and resources to get it on paper.  Personally, I have been blessed that it made it to print.  It has been a true blessing to me and how I relate to the Lord daily.  This book started out to be a Christian living book rather than a self-paced Bible study it became.  You can tell that Tanya feels called to write and teach Bible studies.  She is currently working on a Bible study on prayer and I can’t wait until this one is published.

Until Next Time,

M

**I received a free copy of this book to review.  I was not required to write a positive review nor was I compensated in any other way.  The opinions I have expressed are my own.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the FTC Regulations.  I am part of The CWA Review Crew.

Leave a Reply

Categories

