Posted by: hugapoohlouise | January 21, 2015

Melissa’s One Word – 2015

I know I am a little late to the One Word party, but I’ve been busy living out my One Word for 2015 and I just now found the time to stop by the blog to share it with you.  Did you choose One Word in 2015 to help you focus on the things the Lord has been dealing with your heart about?  If so please stop by and share your One Word here on my blog in the comments section.

So without further ado my word for 2015 that the Lord has led me to focus on is:

ENDURANCE

As I was praying about what the Lord would have me focus on in 2015, I was led to the passage of Scripture in Hebrews 10:36 ESV:

“For you have need of endurance,

so that after you have done

the will of God, you may receive

the promise.”

WOW!  What a jam-packed verse.  I have need of endurance.  Why?  So that I can do the will of God here on earth.  Why?  So I may receive the promise?  What promise?  The promise that God promised me.  I am not going to share the answer here as I don’t want to do all the work for you.  So I was kind of confused when the Lord gave me the word endurance.  I had to make really and truly sure that this was the word and the more I explored the word I realized that this is the perfect word for me in 2015.  God doesn’t make mistakes.  Never has and never will.

I recently began a journey in May 2014 to get healthy and get off the sofa.  I began walking in May 2014 and slowly but surely worked my way up to jogging.  In December 2014, me and my oldest daughter ran/walked our first 5K.  What an accomplishment, I was a grossly obese mother of three children as classified by my personal physician.  29lbs later and my second 5K scheduled for January 31, 2015, the Lord has led me through the word endurance already.

Endurance according to the Merriam-Webster dictionary means the ability to do something difficult for a long time.  The ability to deal with pain or suffering that continues for a long time.  The quality of continuing for a long time.  Permanence duration.  The ability to withstand hardship or adversity.

That sounds just like what a Christian who is following hard after Jesus faces each and everyday doesn’t it?  We need endurance to make it to the end and not our endurance the endurance of Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior.  My endurance is nothing it can’t even hold up a wet noodle for any length of time, but HIS endurance is everything and I want more of it in 2015.  Don’t you?

How? you might ask?  We can’t truly abide in someone we do not know.  We have to spend time with the One we are abiding in for strength for endurance for patience for anything.  We need to truly know Him as He knows us.  From the inside out and the only way I can do this is to spend time with Him everyday not just in a quiet time but to truly abide in Him every moment of every day from now until He calls me home.  I will be sharing more how my abiding has changed in my walk with Christ in a later post.

So don’t forget to stop by and share your One Word for 2015 with me.

Until Next Time,

M

Leave a Reply

Categories

