Posted by: hugapoohlouise | April 26, 2015

Where have I been? Where am I going?

Where have I been?  You ask.  I apologize.  I took a short break from blogging to be with my family and to work on some health issues that popped up in my life.

Most of my readers know I started a journey in May 2014 to change my life according to God’s plan.  I looked in the mirror one day at Walmart no less and realized that I was very overweight and I was not being a good steward of my body for the glory of God.  That is why I am on this earth to bring God the glory, that is my ultimate goal and like everything else I try to do in my self or flesh I failed miserably.  If you know me, know me at all, you know I hate absolutely hate to sweat.  Yuck right?  Well, living in the sunshine state any outside time results in sweat.  So I bit the bulletin in May and got off the sofa.  I had grand plans about exercising, what I failed to take in account was how long I had been lazy and not moving.  Let’s just leave it as it wasn’t as easy as it sounds.  I think the first day I was able to do 10 minutes of walking.  10 minutes I kid you not.  I thought I was going to die.  But you know what?  I didn’t and I did it again the next day and the next day and so on.  Until I made it up to a mile.  Then came two miles, three miles and four.  I won’t lie to you it was not easy.  Someday’s I dreaded getting out of bed because I knew I had to exercise if I was going to take care of my body.

I am not a doctor, nurse or any kind of health care professional so what worked for me may not for you.  I did seek a doctor’s approval before I started.  The only thing that I actually gave up was soda or for my northern friends pop.  When I realized that each and every soda I drank throughout the day cost me 3 miles worth of walking to burn the calories, I gave it up cold turkey.  Which if you know me was not an easy thing.  I love Coke.  I love sweet tea.  I still do, but I want to put something in my stomach that is more substantial than just liquid if I am going to run my little butt off to get rid of it.

In December, me and my daughter walked/ran our first 5K and I have to say I am addicted to 5K’s.  I can’t get enough.  I search the internet daily for the next one.  We are considering a glow run in May for me and the three girls.

As of todays date, I’ve lost 32 pounds and six sizes.  I don’t take selfies so don’t even ask.  It is not about me, it is about Him who gave me the strength to put one foot in front of the other day in and day out.  I’ve had some setbacks, with illness and health problems, but I am still putting one foot in front of the other.  I’d love to hear your story, please share.

So that is where I’ve been for sometime, out walking, biking or running at least three times a week.

Until Next Time,

M

Leave a Reply

Categories

