Posted by: hugapoohlouise | September 25, 2015

Melissa’s Gleanings….

It has been awhile since I posted a Melissa’s Gleaning post and I truly apologize, I let the busyness of life take me away from posting all that I am gleaning as I am reading through the Bible for what I believe is the 7th time.  I am so excited for next year, I am going to be doing something different when I read through the Bible I will be using the Discovery Bible Study Method to read and study the Word of God each day.  I haven’t decided on the translation yet, I think I will try to find a daily Bible in the Holman Christian Standard Bible (HCSB).  So if you know of a daily Bible in the HCSB version please send the link I have been looking but not finding what I want.  I will also be in my quiet time before bed writing out books of the Bible.  I want to have one day as a legacy for my children one whole copy of all the Scripture inspired by God handwritten by me, not that I am anything special, just to have a handwritten copy.

I recently started back journaling, again I let the busyness of this life take me away from something that I really enjoy and that helps me stay sane.  I especially need each day the brain dump, usually before bed I will pour out the contents of my brain on paper so these thoughts do not swirl around in my head while I am trying to sleep.  Oh, how I missed you brain dump.  I have slept so well lately.  Thank you Lord, for drawing me back to journaling so I can connect with you in a way that works best for this child of yours.  You know I love to write and I love to talk so this is our way of connecting, thank you.

Journaling also helps me with prayer, I write out my prayers to the Lord each day and this really helps me to slow down and contemplate what I am praying for, whom I am praying for and how I can pray for them.  I know prayer journaling is not for everyone, but it works best for this girl and I am sticking to it!  One thing I have added to my prayer journaling is adding my to-do list to my prayers.  I look at my schedule for the next day and the things I think should be done and then I enter them into my prayer journal and pray about them I ask the Lord to order my steps as I go about my day in such a way that it brings Him the most glory.  I want to be a glory reflector.  I want to reflect Christ, don’t you?

I have also started back listing three things in my journal that I am grateful for, I will write more if need to but three is the minimum.  This helps me to remember to be thankful for each and everything that comes into my life.  It helps me stay focused on the Creator and my Lord.  You’ll be surprised the more you count blessings each day how you start looking for more.  Open our eye’s Lord to behold Your handiwork.  Then I list who, what, why I am praying for.  I write their name down (Melissa) and then a short reason behind it why I am praying for her.  That way I won’t forget to pray for them.

I am going to stop here lest you become bored with my gleanings.  Stay tuned for the next installment of Melissa’s Musings Prayer Journal and Bible Journal.

Until Next Time,

M

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

