Posted by: hugapoohlouise | October 10, 2015

Melissa’s Gleanings….

A well-known author challenged me this week.  Am I choosing God’s way at every opportunity?  Does my life reflect God’s priorities or mine?  Do the choices I’ve made or are making reflect God as my ultimate priority?  By the way priority means to prefer.

Proverbs 3:6 – ESV

In all your ways acknowledge him,

and he will make straight your paths.

Let me say after reading what this author shared my toes hurt and I was convicted of those times, those choices when I was not reflecting God and His Ultimate priority as my Lord and Savior.  How about you?

The real question though is how am I going to change directions from not letting my life on a daily, moment by moment reflection reflect God?  I can’t remain the same.  I can’t.  First of all my part is to stop and acknowledge God along my way according to Proverbs 3:6 above.  For instance today when I was anxious or stressed, I stopped.  I pictured myself physically placing this weight of anxiety and stress at the foot of the cross and me walking away.  I was acknowledging God is capable, I am not.  He is sufficient, I am not.

God’s part according to this verse is to direct my path.  I don’t know about you, but I want the Lord to direct my paths.  Because left to my own, I can get pretty lost and cause all kinds of problems.  How can I let the Lord direct my path?  Consult Him.  Share with Him.  Let Him be involved in the multitude of decisions you make each day.  Let Him in on all those thoughts that run through your head faster than the speed of light, speak to Him with your words and respond.  Simple?  One way I consult or I like to call it surrender to Him is by asking first thing in the morning “Lord, what would You have me do today?  Help me to see the needs that need to be filled.  Help me to speak the words You want me to say to whom You want me too.  Order my steps and plan my day Lord and let me bring You all the glory and honor. Amen.”

I do this daily commit myself to Him.  I learned long ago, if you don’t commit yourself to God, you are still committing yourself.  We make split second choices and each one reflects the One we follow, serve.  Who are you committing too?  Develop the habit of drawing near to God, not man, technology, etc.  A way to get in the habit of drawing near to the Lord is through regular exposure to His Word.  This can come in many different forms.  Preaching, but remember to study to shew yourself approved.  Whatever is preached from any pulpit in the word check it out and make sure it lines up with the Word of God.  Bible reading daily.  There are tons and tons of plans out there to help you read through the Bible in a year, two years, chronologically, etc.  Find one that words for you and you don’t even have to wait until January 1st, just do it.  Bible study, find one locally or if you are like me and don’t have any that are local, find one online and be faithful to it.  Study each day, search the Scripture for within in them you will find life.   Schedule this time with God if you have too.  My schedule is usually hectic, so I physically write my time with the Lord in my planner.  From 5am to 6am each morning this is what I call my quiet time.  I spend it with the Lord.  30 minutes after my kids are in bed is another time that I spend committing myself to Him before I go to sleep.

I hope this helps you draw closer to the Lord.  Until Next Time,

M

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

