Posted by: hugapoohlouise | December 31, 2015

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year

The hustle and bustle of what we’ve created Christmas to be here on earth has come and gone.  The whole world is looking forward to 2016 either with joy or dread but it is coming either way.

We celebrated the birth of Our Savior this Christmas with less commercialization and more of Jesus.  I really enjoyed the simple, yet regal ornaments that lifted up Jesus and downplayed the role of Santa Claus.  Me and the girls had a blast collecting, coloring and making ornaments that reflect a risen King, not a red-suited man with a beard.  I have to say it was also a challenge, until we found Adorenaments®.  But we had a beautiful tree.  We started right after Thanksgiving and finished up on Christmas Eve.

Our Christmas was a little different this year as illness struck our house.  It seems these last few months it has been one person in our family getting sick or diagnosed with some disease.  Which has weighed heavy on my heart.  I love my loved ones and when they suffer I suffer with them.  Our oldest daughter came down with the flu bug on Christmas Eve and then was running a high temperature all day Christmas.  So we had a small gathering to eat this meal prepared by our hands for the glory of God.  It was long after all the food was ate and dishes washed that the cook of the food became ill, yep, me.  So Christmas ended rather shortly as two of us were in bed sick.  I have to say my body needed the rest and I am pleased to announce that my other two kids were thrilled to be able to play uninterrupted with their new presents.

As the New Year draws closer and closer, we are mending.  Still with a fever some of us that goes away for one day and returns the next.  We wanted to wish all of readers, subscribers and followers and occasional visitor a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.  We wish you many blessings of health and that you would be a reflection of Christ in this year coming.  That when anyone looks at you they will see Christ.

At Melissa’s Musings, we are goal-setting and planning a New Year that will bring honor and glory to Jesus Christ.  I am searching His Word for a Word for 2016 these last few days.  Do you have your word for 2016?  I’d love to hear it and how you are going to implement your word through out this blessing of a New Year that we’ve been given.  I am planning for ways to go deeper with the Lord this year, I am planning my Bible reading journey, looking for a new plan that will help me immerse myself in His Word daily.  I am looking at ways to journal His Word so that it is always in the forefront of my mind.  Ways to chew on a Scripture that is relevant to my life over and over again.  To let His Words be more important to me than physical food.  To seek Him for the paths I need to be on this year and how I can honor and glorify Him best.  How about you?  What are you doing these last few days of 2015?

So Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all and until next time,

M

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

