Posted by: hugapoohlouise | February 27, 2016

Gleanings by Melissa

It truly has been too long since I shared my gleanings with you.  I apologize.  Life got in the way.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I have still be spending time in the Word with my Creator.  I have been allowing Him to pour into me, I have just failed to pour out His goodness into your life by posting my nuggets of truth and wisdom the LORD has graciously shared with me.  I am sorry.  But… You know me I took notes.

I am once again reading through the Word of God.  This year I am not doing it Chronologically I am reading the Word how most Bibles are printed beginning in Genesis and reading through Revelations.  I am not using one of those check it off plans this year.  I printed out the reading schedule and I refer to it once in a while to make sure that I am not lagging behind or totally getting off track, but I am not following a set reading time table.  I read until the Holy Spirit speaks to my heart.  I read until the Lord reveals Himself to me in a verse or passage.  I sometimes read the same chapter over and over four or five times as I savor the very words that God is speaking to me His child.  Truly we are blessed to have the Word of God so readily available to us and to be able to read it each day is one of the greatest blessings we could possibly receive.  But….I was one of those who didn’t pull up the chair at the banquet and let the Lord feed me.  Why?  Oh, the reasons would go on longer than this blog post or blog series.  But what I didn’t realize at the time was they were just excuses and attempts of the enemy to capture my attention elsewhere to keep me from truly knowing the Lord.  I am not trying to condemn or judge anyone here I am speaking totally to myself.  In my own life, I let the busyness and all consuming world take me away from my first love.  That is one of the reasons I chose to read the Bible through each year is so I can draw closer to Him.  So I digress, but this plan that I am loosely following in 2016 is working for me.  I am reading the Word, but I am also tasting and seeing the Word through different eyes as I don’t rush through reading a certain amount of chapters to check off those little boxes.  It is working very well for my anxiety and over achieving tendencies.   Thank you Lord!

I am also journaling through the Bible With Joanna Weaver of http://www.JoannaWeaverBooks.com.  Her reading schedule is called Word of God Speak.  She also has a Facebook page and shares on Twitter for you social media people.  Each week we have a set of Scriptures to read through and we read through them slowly, sometimes we spend a whole week on two chapters of the Bible.  I can hear that gasp.  But yes we are slowing down our reading and we are savoring small portions of Scripture.  Joanna shares a journal for using her method when you become a subscriber to her blog.  I am using my own version of her journal as I changed it a bit to make it work for me.  I hope you’ll check it out.

I am also writing out Scripture this year in my journal too.  I am following the monthly Scripture Writing Challenges found at http://www.SouthernMelle.com.  This is only my second month but I am loving it.  When I slow down to read the passage and then write the passage I find it is easier to recall the passage throughout the days, weeks, months ahead and then I can pray this Scripture back to the Lord as situations arise that call for these verses.  Pssst…. I have a secret I have a real special review coming up about Scripture writing.  I know you’ve heard of different products for writing Scripture but have you heard of one where you can write out the whole entire Bible in one gorgeously bound volume?  No?  Stay tuned, I promise you won’t be disappointed, I wasn’t.

My new method of Bible study for 2016 was revealed to me at the end of January by the Lord.  He led me to http://www.TreasuredMinistries.com.  I have never met Aliene Thompson in person only on periscope.  But, the Lord knew what I needed and when I needed it.  So one night He led me to her website where I have joined her studying through the book of Ephesians.  We are discovering our Godly Girl power.  I love the fact that Aliene has the study on periscope for 24 hours and then she also has a video most of the times on youtube and then she also does an itunes podcast.  Each week Aliene emails us out her newsletter that contains the current weeks Scripture and we each study the passages out for ourselves using the Nourish Bible study method that was developed by Aliene.  I am totally addicted to this new way or lens of looking at God’s Word.  I am looking at God’s Word through His eyes and not mine.  My eyes are corrupt.  His are pure and when we allow Him to illuminate and reveal through the Holy Spirit you will be amazed at what you see.  One truth that has been very evident to me is that reading, studying the Bible is not all about me.  To think.  I know.

I hope you will continue to read and study with me as Melissa gleans through the Word of God.  It is my hopes to be able to post more regularly.

Until Next Time,

M

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

