Posted by: hugapoohlouise | March 6, 2016

Save A Place For Me!

 

good-bye-clipart-zyTobXxiE

Recently, I lost someone very near and dear to my heart.  She was like my second mom after mine passed away in 2006.  She was my moms best friend and she later became mine. Even though 1,200 miles separated us physically we were together in spirit.  My heart aches for the emptiness that is left by her passing.  But my heart also leaps for joy as I know that she is in glory with our Heavenly Father and Jesus.  Praise God.

For privacy sake I will call my mom’s best friend and mine “G”.  In 2011 G had lost her husband to a long battle with cancer.  Sad and alone I played the song “Save A Place For Me” by Matthew West for her.  We both shed tears of joy as we listened to the the lyrics.  I told her that her husband and my mom were saving a place for us.  They were saving some grace for us.  Even though death has lost it’s sting for us as Christians it still leaves an empty void in your life where that special someone use to fill or be.  Believe me when I tell you that you want to fill that void with Jesus as we were created to be and not something physical, mental or emotional.  Let Jesus flood your life as the waves of grief wash against you, because if you don’t you will find yourself in a very dark place that is very hard to escape.

For four years after her husband died me and G talked weekly on the phone about our Lord Jesus and life.  Mother and daughter stuff.  One day G called me to tell me that she had lung cancer and she had refused all treatment.  She said she had lived a full life and that she was ready to make peace with this world and go on to meet her Creator.  As we cried together about the sadness of the whole thing, I slowly began to realize that it was her time and that I would have to let go of this earthly body she possessed and let her fly away home.  The words to “Save A Place For Me” flooded my soul and I reminded her of this song we had listened too, cried too four years ago.  G told me that she would save a place for me and she would save some grace for me too!

There is a hole in my life that G use to fill but I can no longer talk to her, but she is in a better place.  She is with her Bridegroom, she has no pain, she is not suffering.  I listen to the Matthew West song “Save A Place For Me” and “Reason For The World” to help my hope stay vibrant and alive.  I miss G tremendously but I know that she is better off where she is.  So today on the blog I say goodbye to someone I’ve known forever and loved even longer.

Until Next Time,

M

Leave a Reply

Categories

