Posted by: hugapoohlouise | March 9, 2016

Melissa’s Gleanings…

Wow, I can not believe that the first week of March has come and gone.  Our household has been suffering some illness that is why I haven’t been blogging lately.  In between home, work, kids school and sickness it is has slowed us down tremendously.  I have  missed my blog readers and blog friends.  I am so thankful for each email or note that I received from my readers when I miss a week blogging.  I love each and everyone one you and I am  honored that you read my words.

In February, Melissa’s Musings jumped on the Bullet Journal bandwagon.  I know I write about planners, paper and pens here and share my reviews all the time, but I was struggling in the planning world.   I love my Homemaker’s Friend Daily Planner and I still use it.  My Homemaker’s Friend Daily 2016 planner is used for my household.  It is the command center that helps keep my house running smoothly and gives me, mom, some sanity.  But, I needed something more.  I needed to have a calendar at home because my husband is home all day and I am not.  I needed him to be able to see the plans for the house visually.  Now don’t get me wrong, I also discuss all our household plans with my husband and he has final say, but sometimes as we are all humans we forget things so when I leave my planner at the house open for him to see, he can recall where we are and what we are doing.  So I needed something portable in a planner.  I needed something I could mold and shape and make it what I needed not force myself to conform to the pages it contained.  Enter the Bullet Journal.

If you’ve never heard about the Bullet Journal I invite you to go to the founder’s page and watch the video.  The website is:  Ryder Carroll   (just click on the founder’s name and you’ll be taken to his website).  I read about the bullet journal and watched the video months maybe even a year ago, I was impressed but not motivated to make the switch.  In February of this year after a total schedule blunder, I decided to go looking for something more.  One thing that held me back from the bullet journal previously was that I felt I did not have the time to create each page I needed.  Plus I am not artistic in the least.  So I was worried about straight lines.  I jumped on the bullet journal method in February and I was counting the days until the end of February until I could create my March pages.   I love this method.  I will be sharing more in my gleanings and my daily posts so stay tuned.

I know you may ask how the bullet journal planning system fits into my normal Melissa’s Gleanings.  Well, my gleanings are about what I am learning and I am learning a new planning method that is helping to simplify my life and it is a blessing to be able to share it with others.  Plus, I am using my bullet journal for Bible study, prayer, gratitude journal, fitness planner and so much more all contained in one book.  I love the fact that as I am studying or reading at work my Bible study during lunch when I come across something that the Lord reveals to me I can jot it down, draw it our or journal about it right then and there.  I do wish I could learn how to write like some of those who have been bullet journaling for longer than me.  I will have to look into a letter class or something.  One day I may be brave enough to share the pages of my bullet journal but not right now, but if you want to share how you bullet journal by all means send your images to me and I would be happy to share them on the blog.

Now on to the nuggets of truth that the Lord revealed to me as I spent time in His Word asking Him to speak to my heart.  I love the tremendous unity the Bible has, don’t you?  The New Testament is concealed in the Old Testament.  I can’t read one without the other popping into my mind, can you?  When I am reading in the New Testament, I will read a verse and a light will pop off in my head that I’ve read something similar before and I have to follow the trail through Scripture that God left me to find the verse.  Do you do this too?  I am going to start verse mapping soon, and I am think this will work great for my study time as I am always following the thread of a verse through the Bible until I find it’s beginning or end.  And verse mapping looks exciting to this uncoordinated, unable to draw person.

This year as I read the story of the Israelites and the battle of Jericho the Words of Scripture spoke to me.  The plan that God gave Joshua to destroy Jericho would work in my own life with the enemy or any dilemma that I was facing that had walls I could not see over.  Do you have a few of them in your life?  Let me share:

  • God told Joshua to go around Jericho once every day.  So go around your own personal Jericho (problem/dilemma) only once a day.  Pray about it one time and give it into the Lords’ more than capable hands.
  • God told Joshua to take the ark with him and the Israelite’s. So take the ark with you.  Remind yourself of God’s presence with you each moment you are tempted to go around the Jericho another time throughout the day.  Remind yourself of what God’s Word says about this Jericho in your life.  Remind yourself about God’s promises to you as His child.

The walls will crumble just like they did at Jericho and God will receive the glory.

Until Next Time,
M

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

