Posted by: hugapoohlouise | June 1, 2016

Hello June!

I can hardly believe that we are in June already, where has this year gone?  I feel like I’ve missed a few months, how about you?

My kids are out for summer vacation, they get out of school in early May and life takes a hectic turn or should I say more hectic.  I am so glad that homework, research papers, exams and early bedtimes are over, can I get an amen? I love summer as it stays light longer and we can log more outside hours.  This summer we are getting fit together as a family.  In my previous blog posts I share how I have been on journey to get healthy.  I started in June 2014 and currently I am less 40 pounds and counting.  So I guess there is less of me and more of my Heavenly Father. But the benefits are awesome.  I have more energy, stamina and for the first time in a long time life is more enjoyable. I know what your thinking how did I do it?

Well, I didn’t join a fancy gym.  I didn’t buy into the latest weight loss fad, I didn’t drink the shake or take the pill.  I did it the old fashioned way with what I had on hand at the time.  I got up off the sofa one day and started walking.  Walking and walking.  With each step that I took I had a vision of Forrest Gump in my head as he ran back and forth across America.  In the beginning this old body of mine could only last 10 minutes but I kept on pushing.  Then I worked up to 15 minutes a day and soon I was seeing 30 minutes a day and then I stopped looking at the minutes and paid attention to the ground I was covering.  The steps turned into miles and once I hit the four mile marker I started jogging.  I know right?  Who would of though since I have such a strong aversion to sweating.  Sweat I did in the good old Florida sunshine.  So I started over since I was now jogging, I did five, ten and then twenty and thirty minutes until I stopped counting the minutes and started counting the miles.  They add up fast.

I’ve had a few setbacks along the way with sickness and life in general got in the way.  But one thing I can tell you is that when I am not exercising I am not happy.  My stress level overcomes my attitude.  I don’t sleep as well and I am irritable.  When I exercise each day I sleep better and it improves my attitude and outlook on all things.  One thing that my exercise has really helped is my prayer life.  While I am walking or jogging or riding my bike I am praying.  Having a constant conversation with My Savior.  I can’t do it without Him and I give Him all the praise and glory for it.  He started me on this journey and He will see me through it.  I pray for everything and anything.  For His Will, my life, my family, friends and my church.  Anything that comes to mind I pray about and it has really helped draw me closer to Him.  You would be totally surprised how much you can say and seek for in a mile or even ten minutes.  Problems that were before me that appeared as tall as mountains are reduced to mole hills when you pray and seek Him.  What an awesome opportunity He has given me to reach out to Him in mind, body and spirit.

So this summer my blog maybe sparse, but you can find me walking, jogging or biking around the sunshine state mostly confined to 20 acres but I’ve come to know every inch of those 20 acres like I’ve come to know my Heavenly Father better.  I challenge you, get up off that sofa and out from that book, television or whatever is distracting you this summer and take that first step.  Believe me, it is not easy most days as your muscles ache and the cramps set in or as the sweat stings your eyes.  But one thing I know it is worth it.  I also challenge you to cry out to God,  lift your voice as you lift yourself to Him.  If you don’t know Him, I challenge you to meet Him and find out the truth that is just waiting for you to discover about Him.  Surrender to Him and make Him Lord.

I’d love to hear from you if you are taking your first step toward a healthy life or if you are taking that first step into God’s waiting arms.  Drop me a line and we can virtually walk together.

I am not a licensed fitness coach or physician I recommend you check with your doctor before beginning any exercise program first.  As your doctor know you and can give you medical advice I can not, nor do I claim too.

Until Next Time,

M

Responses

  1. I love your testimony, Melissa; good for you! I also pray when I walk & wasn’t aware that others may do also! So many adversities that I have faced I have been able to turn over to the Father during those times! I learned years ago that I would hurt/ache, be down, have less energy, et al if I didn’t get the blood flowing & the good hormonal releases that come from breathing & sweating. I love your real life approach & I know it will encourage others who think they cant or that they have to join something, buy something, spend money, etc.

    Happy June/summer to you & you kiddos.

    • Thank you so much for your kind words. Check out my giveaway.


Leave a Reply

Categories

